Arcata Chamber of Commerce Names Distinguished Businesses – December 15, 2011

Thursday, December 15, 2011

ARCATA – The Arcata Chamber of Commerce  made several announcements last week, including members of its new Executive Committee for 2012, elected by members to serve from Jan. 1, 2012 to Dec. 31, 2014 on the Chamber’s Board of Directors. They are:

Emily Davenport – President

Patti Stammer – Vice President

Marna Powell — Secretary

Todd Peterson – Treasurer

Jeff Schmitt – Past President

The Chamber also named the top three nominations in six categories for Business Leadership Awards. Members are voting online through Dec. 28.

All business finalists will be announced in January and then honored at the Chamber’s Annual Leadership Dinner and Awards ceremony in February – along with the Business Leader of the Year.

The Arcata Chamber will also present its Outreach Award this year to the Arcata Fire Protection District and its Arcata Beautification Award will honor Robert Goodman Winery.

In addition, the City of Arcata will present its business award.

2012 Arcata Chamber of Commerce Nominees

New Chamber Member  

1. Arcata Artisans

2. Miranda’s Rescue

3. Sweet Bee Baker

Hospitality & Tourism  

1. Dell’Arte International: Mad River Festival

2. Tuck Inc. (Abruzzi, Plaza Grill, Abruzzi. Catering and Moonstone Grill)

3. Luke’s Joint (The Other Place & The Other Cart)

Non-profit Business of the Year

1. Arcata Economic Development Corporation (AEDC) – Small Business Lending Center

2. Humboldt Wildlife Care Center (HWCC)

3. Northern California Community Blood Bank (NCCBB)

Green Business of the Year

1. Aqua-Rodeo Farms

2. Godwit Days

3. Shred Tec

Small Business of the Year

1. Kinetic Koffee

2. Mad River Farms

3. Northtown Books

Business of the Year

1. Cypress Grove Chevre

2. DANCO Builders

3. Mill Yard